Lovely Birdie Dress

A new pattern for the new year! I had my parents snap this pattern up during a JoAnn’s 99¢ sale.


Pattern: Butterick 5748, View A

View A detilView A detail

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? The bodice did turn out like the envelope.

Were the instructions easy to follow? This pattern is so easy to follow because there aren’t that many steps to begin with!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really like the scoop neck and back, which makes this a great shape for a summer dress.

Fabric Used: Lovely Birdie from JoAnn’s

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: 

  • The fabric was a gift and unfortunately, there wasn’t quite enough to make the full circle skirt. I made a simple gathered skirt instead.
  • I graded up the waist to fit. In my muslin,
  • I pinched out 1/4 inch in the front and back neckline. I have had to do this for several patterns now, so I suspect I have narrow shoulders.
  • I also didn’t add the back v or the bows for view A

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will be making this one again for sure. Hopefully I will be able to find lovely light vintage-style fashion fabric that will make a great floaty sun dress.

Conclusion: I really do like this dress. I don’t have a cardigan that really ‘matches’ but I think I will be able  to cope.
SANY2474SANY2473

I’m sorry that I don’t have better pictures. I finished the dress on Monday, but didn’t wear it until Thursday. Unfortunately, the weather wasn’t terribly cooperative and by the time I got home from work, it was so dark. I’ll try to remember to take some next time I wear it.

Leave a Reply

