Playing with Textures

I finished the rather boring black knit hat from  Knitty Gritty: Knitting for the Absolute Beginner. It it isn’t much and has a few mistakes. My biggest problem is letting stitches slip off my needles when I am pushing them up to start working on them.

I have started working on a new blanket for my room. My crocheted granny square blanket didn’t turn out exactly the way I would have liked. It is really too small to cover me unless I am really curled up.

I figured I would improve my skills by working many different squares. It isn’t quite as boring as making dishcloths, because I know I will use my blanket in the end. I am using 3 colours to work 10 different patterns, 5 of which are coming from this pattern (Bernat’s Sampler Blanket – Ravelry).

So this is the next item on the needles. I suspect it will be a gradual process, but I look forward to trying different stitch patterns.

I am also going to dive into working with double-pointed needles. I am going to make a pair of socks and a pair of mittens. I haven’t quite worked up the courage for this yet, so there may be loads of YouTube videos coming my way!

Leave a Reply

